I Have Good News and Bad News

Hello readers. I see it’s been a minute since I was here posting. I should have had more time to post because of the pandemic, but it didn’t work out that way. Here is a quick rundown of some highlights before I get down to today’s business.

We are down to one dog, Maria. I want another dog, but I am getting a lot of blowback from Dalene. While I understand that she is still mourning Rocket Boy, I also know that another dog would be healing. I have applied to adopt a few over the past twelve months, regardless of her protestations, but others have beat me to all of them, or wouldn’t adopt out of state, due to covid.

Maria is doing this new thing: one ear up, one ear down

D Said “NO MORE DOGS. If I get another animal it will be a CAT.” And wouldn’t you know it, a kitten manifested under our kitchen window last October, and moved right in. The kitten claims to have known us from a former life, and who am I to argue the ways of Gods and angels?

Here he is. His name is Orbit, and I won’t be writing about him here Up on the Woof, because this is a dog blog, about dog things.

Maria was not happy about the development, but since then she has grudgingly accepted him.

I’ve opened a new shop on etsy to sell leaf litter and organic foods for hermit crabs. I won’t be writing about that, Here, either. However, for those of you who keep crabs, check out CrabOrganicals.

I’ve taken up a needle felting, and the very first thing I tried my hand at was a yelodoggie. I will soon be making some more of these to sell in the Yelodoggie Art Shop.

A needle felted Floyd. What? You didn’t know that’s the yelodoggie’s name?

And speaking of the yelodoggie, the first Yelodoggie book, “Why Am I. . .?” is available on the Zon. And if you scroll on down the Amazon page, you’ll see some reviews, and also an endorsement by none other than Jack Zipes.

Midwest Book Review loves it, too.

Now onto the GOOD NEWS and BAD NEWS . . .

It feels like I’ve been posting about this forever, and in blog years, I suppose I have. Ten years ago, when I covered one of the worst cases of animal abuse and cruelty in West Virginia history for Pet Pardons Media, I told you all about it here Up on the Woof. I made the offender, Jeffrey A. Nally Jr. my personal project that day, and began a campaign to keep him behind bars. The bad news is that after being initially set off in June of 2021, Nally was paroled on Dec 2, 2021, after serving 10 years and 7 months of his 10 to 45 year sentence, even though more than 11,000 people signed a petition asking the parole board to deny him, and many more wrote personal letters and mailed in postcards.

Now the good news: he has already reoffended! Just today, I spoke with the Hancock County prosecutor who verified that Nally had been arrested this month on domestic violence charges (he beat up his mother, again) and there were firearms in the house where he was living in East Liverpool, Ohio. Because he us a felon, he is a “restricted person” and both of these things are parole violations. He has pled not guilty, because he knows that if found guilty, he would be incarcerated again to serve out his 45 year sentence. While I am sorry for his mother’s pain, I am delighted that he has already shown his tendency of continued violent behavior, and that ultimately, he will orchestrate his own undoing.

Keep following Up on the Woof for updates on this case.

About yelodoggie

Ariel C. Wulff is an author, artist and animal advocate. They have been involved in pet rescue for over twenty-five years. They have written two books about their true-life adventures living with an ever-changing house full of pets: Born Without a Tail, and Circling the Waggins, and a guide to animal advocacy using the Internet as a tool: How to Change the World in 30 Seconds". Wulff also wrote a pet column and book review column for the Examiner, and was a contributing editor for AnimalsVote.org. They attribute their love of animals to having been raised by Wulffs.
This entry was posted in Random Woofs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I Have Good News and Bad News

  1. Stacey says:

    That didn’t take long! Every animal is safer with him off the streets. It makes me sick to think of all his victims we don’t know about. Thanks for your tireless work and your updates.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?