When Advocacy Spills into my Day. Crazy or Not Crazy? That is the Question.

I am a dog advocate.

This is a truth so deeply ingrained in who I am, that I sometimes see things a little differently than most people.  You might say I view the world through dog-colored glasses.

I had an experience this past week that perfectly illustrates what I mean. When I related it to my partner, she said that I have become a Crazy Lady.

I was shopping in Walgreens and walked down the pet aisle on my way to the register. But what I saw there made me stop in my tracks and boggle. Right there, next to the bags of dog and cat food, was a 4 foot display of glade candles and odor eliminators.  They were butted up against each other.walgreens dog foodNow, I don’t know about you, but those glade candles smell pretty strong to me. And I immediately thought of how when you buy that kind of stuff in the grocery store, the baggers never put that kind of thing into a bag with food…not even boxed items. I’ve always thought that was because the scent of the perfume of the soap or candle or cleaning fluid might permeate the food package.

As we all know, dogs have a sense of smell thousands of times greater than ours. So, this store set-up seemed wrong.  I asked to speak to the manager, and I took him over to the aisle and told him what I was thinking. He is a young man, very nice, and always eager to please. His response, however, was that he was “sure that the dog food bags were thick enough that nothing could penetrate them.”  Well, I know that water penetrates them, and I know that my dogs can smell the food inside even when they are sealed. Still, I didn’t argue with him. He said the store set-ups were decided “by corporate”, but that he would mention it to his district manager. We left it at that.

Yesterday, I was in this Walgreens again, and I noticed a man in a suit talking with one of the store employees. He reeked of corporate. I approached the young man I had spoken to last week and asked him who the guy in the suit was. He told me that he was the district manager. I asked if he had spoken to him yet about the pet aisle, and he hadn’t. So I approached the man in the suit, who greeted me in a friendly, professional manner, and asked him if I could talk to him about my concern. When I showed him, he understood exactly what I meant. He looked at the aisle and said they could flop the display so the items like mops and dusters were butted up against the canned pet food…putting the glade at the far left of the aisle and the bagged dog food at the far right. He said they would make the change right after Christmas.

Will he remember? I don’t know.

Did he make a note of it? I don’t know.

Will I be checking after Christmas to see if it’s changed? You can bet your damn boots I will!

This, incidentally,  is the second time I have talked to a drug store about their pet food set up. The last time they had the pet food butted up against the rat poison!

So now I put the question to you   – crazy, or not crazy?

About yelodoggie

C.A.Wulff is an author, artist and animal advocate. She has been involved in pet rescue for over twenty-five years. She has written two books about her true-life adventures living with an ever-changing house full of pets: Born Without a Tail, and Circling the Waggins, and a guide to animal advocacy using the Internet as a tool: How to Change the World in 30 Seconds". Wulff also writes a pet column and book review column for the Examiner, and is a contributing editor for AnimalsVote.org. She attributes her love of animals to having been raised by Wulffs.
This entry was posted in Random Woofs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Advocacy Spills into my Day. Crazy or Not Crazy? That is the Question.

  1. Good job, Ariel! And you never know – corporate may decide to change things up in all their stores nation-wide.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Your One Stop Update on 2015’s Posts | Up on the Woof

  3. I thought this EXACT same thing at our local grocery store and wanted to talk to the manager about it…maybe I still will. Being an animal advocate means you notice things that others possibly don’t. It’s important that we use our voice to speak up for others. Thank you for speaking up!

    Like

What do you think?

