I’m Stealing Your Dog on Friday

I’m stealing your DOG on Friday.

You know, that dog who your wife used to hold on her lap all day long. The dog that stayed glued to her side while she fought cancer. She loved that dog.

I’m stealing your dog on Friday.

That dog you leave outside in all kinds of weather. The one you said didn’t need a bath because she’d been out in the rain all day.

I’m STEALING your dog on Friday.

Because she’s spending way too many hours lying under your porch. She’s lonely.
You might be feeding her, but there’s more to having a dog than just providing food and water.

I’m stealing YOUR dog on Friday.

Because the only time you talk to her is when you are snapping at her. Because since your
wife died three years ago, she doesn’t get petted. She never hears a kind word.
She doesn’t wag her tail any more.

I’m stealing your dog on Friday.

Because you won’t license her or get her shots, or put her on heartworm preventative. You let her nails get so long I’m afraid they will grow into her pads. She is neglected.

I’M stealing your dog on Friday.

Because the way she howled the last time I drove away has been haunting me. She was crying for help.

I’m stealing your dog on FRIDAY.

Because she deserves better than the lonely life she has.
Because she deserves to be loved and valued.
Because she deserves to be happy.

dogunderhouse

About yelodoggie

C.A.Wulff is an author, artist and animal advocate. She has been involved in pet rescue for over twenty-five years. She has written two books about her true-life adventures living with an ever-changing house full of pets: Born Without a Tail, and Circling the Waggins, and a guide to animal advocacy using the Internet as a tool: How to Change the World in 30 Seconds". Wulff also writes a pet column and book review column for the Examiner, and is a contributing editor for AnimalsVote.org. She attributes her love of animals to having been raised by Wulffs.
This entry was posted in Animal Advocacy, Random Woofs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Stealing Your Dog on Friday

  1. ouacstowohio says:

    I am thankful, I am supportive, I have a feeling you all will need vetting assistance considering the neglect. Bless your heart for giving this dog the love and kindness that has been heartlessly forgotten by another human being.

    Like

  2. Heartbreaking. I hope you DO steal his dog on Friday!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Tänkvärt: ”I’m Stealing Your Dog on Friday”. |

  4. Pingback: From Under the Porch to Up on the Bed | Up on the Woof

What do you think?

