Giveaway! “Born Without a Tail; The Making of an Animal Advocate”

I seldom write about my books here Up on the Woof. Images of the book covers just kind of lurk in the right margin of my blog, reminding you that they exist, and giving you a link where they can be purchased. As you might have guessed, I mostly write about dogs.

Dillon the "silver dog". Told me to quit complaining about his bark, because it didn't intimidate anyone.

Dillon the “silver dog”. Told me to quit complaining about his bark, because it didn’t intimidate anyone.

It was eight years ago today when I published my firsts book, Born Without a Tail.  It was a labor of love. My heart dog, Dillon, was about to turn seventeen, and it made me think about my time with him and with all the other pets in my life. I self-published that book because even though there were interested publishers, none of them were moving fast enough, and I was determined to see it in print before Dillon died. As it turned out, I didn’t need to be in such a hurry, because he still had 3 good  years in him. My subsequent books were all published by indie publisher Barking Planet Productions, and it’s been a great partnership. This year, we decided to make Born Without a Tail a Barking Planet book, too.

The 2007 & and 2015 editions.

The 2007 & and 2015 editions.

Yesterday, the second edition hit print and is available on amazon, B&N, and other online retailers. It looks a little different from the first printing,and it contains some new material, too. The new edition has a foreword by Bob Tarte, the author of Enslaved by Ducks, Fowl Weather, Kitty Cornered, and a new book he is shopping around to publishers right now. I recommend Bob’s books to all animal lovers and rescuers, because they are a lot of fun, and he’s an excellent writer. The new edition also has a prologue about my journey into advocacy, and it also contains some photos that the first printing didn’t have. Here’s what some readers have said about it: “I can’t say too much about this book, it’s more than a ‘dog book’ it’s a people, animals, life book. I was hooked from the first page and read it straight through, and have re read it since, enjoying it just as much the second time around.  Anyone who’s ever had a heart dog, a misfit cat, ever been touched by the love of an animal should enjoy this book. It’s a keeper. “ A collection of funny and heartwarming tales that shaped the life of a young animal advocate. Inspiring and written from the heart. I was touched by this account of love, friendship, responsibility and true selflessness. If you love animals you will not be able to put this book down. . In celebration of the 8th anniversary of the book and the publication of the new edition this month, I’m giving away some copies. All you have to do to enter is to “like” my Facebook author page , find the image below and comment on it, and you will be automatically entered into the drawing. Winners will be randomly selected on April 3. Good luck, and please, tell your friends! entertowin

About yelodoggie

C.A.Wulff is an author, artist and animal advocate. She has been involved in pet rescue for over twenty-five years. She has written two books about her true-life adventures living with an ever-changing house full of pets: Born Without a Tail, and Circling the Waggins, and a guide to animal advocacy using the Internet as a tool: How to Change the World in 30 Seconds". Wulff also writes a pet column and book review column for the Examiner, and is a contributing editor for AnimalsVote.org. She attributes her love of animals to having been raised by Wulffs.
This entry was posted in Animal Advocacy, Random Woofs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giveaway! “Born Without a Tail; The Making of an Animal Advocate”

  1. beeleevitonly says:

    I just liked your page and entered a picture of my corgi mix rescue, Murphy. He lacks a tail but his heart is huge.

    Bobbi Lee

    Like

What do you think?

