If my dogs were kids…

I’m going to make a little digression here from the things I usually blog about for a bit of good natured fun.

In the past, I’ve poked fun here at people who call their pets “furpeople”, because as much as I love my dogs, they are dogs, not people, and they are distinctly “other”.

This past weekend, something kind of weird happened to me, and I paid attention. I was just waking up, and my little rat terrier/chi mix, Maria, greeted me. That morning, it was as if I could clearly hear her voice saying “good morning mom.” It’s not the first time I’ve “heard” one of my dog’s voices. If Dillon could have spoken, I know exactly what his voice would have sounded like. But this weekend, when I “heard” Maria, it made me wonder what she would look like if she were a kid. That naturally led me to wonder about the other four dogs, too…and I found that it wasn’t that hard for me to picture each of them as human children.

A little creepy.

Maybe I’ve finally stepped over that line to Crazy Dog Lady.

So, anyway, just for fun – and because I’d been going through a bunch of comic book art that I have drawn or that I own, I decided to do a “family portrait” of my dogs — if they were kids.

Here is my drawing, for your enjoyment. I hope you will find it amusing, or charming.

Your comments are welcome…even the ones to tell me that I’m a kook, or to take me to task for anthropomorphizing my dogs to such a degree.

If my dogs were kids...

If my dogs were kids…

If you’ve read my book, Circling the Waggins, you may be able to figure out who’s who.

Maybe it’s the start of a whole new avenue of pet portraiture.

About yelodoggie

C.A.Wulff is an author, artist and animal advocate. She has been involved in pet rescue for over twenty-five years. She has written two books about her true-life adventures living with an ever-changing house full of pets: Born Without a Tail, and Circling the Waggins, and a guide to animal advocacy using the Internet as a tool: How to Change the World in 30 Seconds". Wulff also writes a pet column and book review column for the Examiner, and is a contributing editor for AnimalsVote.org. She attributes her love of animals to having been raised by Wulffs.
This entry was posted in Random Woofs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If my dogs were kids…

  1. you aren’t crazy at all! Just creative! Barks and licks and love, Dakota http://www.dakotasden.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Waycooldogs says:

    I feel there comes a closeness between my dogs and myself that is beyond words and thought. An excellent communication enters when a bond of love and connection merges, forming an unspoken “oneness” between the dog and its master. Recognizing words or thoughts are minor compared to this invisible connection of love, when a complete understanding becomes inevitable. This surpasses the fact one is a dog and the other is a human being, as it does not matter any

    Like

What do you think?

