The Golden Essence of Dogs

I have this “thing” for yellow dogs. Have you ever noticed how artists choose the color yellow more than any other color when drawing a dog?  I noticed that phenomenon almost twenty years ago and tried to figure out the reason.

I think it’s because deep in their heart of hearts, every dog is yellow. Not yellow as in cowardly…but yellow as in the color of light and joy and happiness. Those attributes define the true essence of dogs.

About half a dozen years ago, I started painting yellow dogs to celebrate those attributes and all the lovable imperfections of our best friends. The outcome was my yelodoggie character, Floyd.

Like all dogs, Floyd has his origins in Canis Lupis (the wolf), but my yelodoggie is more of a Canis Whateveris who gets himself in all sorts of jams.

Canis Pendulous

I paint when the spirit moves me.

Over the past week, I’ve been painting Floyd in various scenes and listing the paintings for sale in my etsy shop.  Each painting is created in watercolor and acrylic. They are postcard size and matted to a standard 8 x 10. They are extremely affordable, and the sales help me feed and clothe the five living breathing rescue dogs who currently share my home. Take a peek why don’t you? I’ll bet they will make you smile.

Canis Amorous

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following artists are the creators and owners of the yellow cartoon dogs shown at the top of this post:

Odie – Jim Davis\Marmaduke – Brad Anderson\Pluto – Walt Disney\Underdog – Joe Harris\Hong Kong Phooey – Hanna Barbera\Grimmy – Mike Peters\CatDog – Peter Hannan\Spike – Arlene Klasky, Gabor Csupo & Paul Germain

About yelodoggie

C.A.Wulff is an author, artist and animal advocate. She has been involved in pet rescue for over twenty-five years. She has written two books about her true-life adventures living with an ever-changing house full of pets: Born Without a Tail, and Circling the Waggins, and a guide to animal advocacy using the Internet as a tool: How to Change the World in 30 Seconds". Wulff also writes a pet column and book review column for the Examiner, and is a contributing editor for AnimalsVote.org. She attributes her love of animals to having been raised by Wulffs.
This entry was posted in Random Woofs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Golden Essence of Dogs

  1. If dogs are the color of light and joy, then my cats are the color of sloth and nonproductiveness: grey!

    Great drawings, Ariel! Cute and fun!

    Like

  2. Barb says:

    I had a stuffed-animal dog when I was a kid, (pre-beany baby, but sort of similar) who was yellow and floppy. His name was YellowDog. My real life dog was, of course, a Golden.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Online Art Auction to Benefit Lucky Dog Rescue | Up on the Woof

What do you think?

